Let’s Roll!

Welcome!

Ahh… Another blog written by someone with good intentions of updating and keeping things current.. lets see how this goes. A little bit about myself I am a 25 year old living the single life in Alaska with my two dogs who I shall refer to as “the monsters.” I have struggled with my weight for my whole life and am starting my weight loss journey for lets see the 100th or so time… I am hoping that starting a blog will help me stay motivated. So far I’ve been “eating healthy” for a week with good results. Thanks to an army of cookbooks and blogs I follow I have loved the healthy, but delicious food I’ve been eating this week. Now I have “eating healthy” in quotations because I hate the word diet. Diets seem so restricting and I hate to think of myself on a diet. As someone who is simply trying to eat healthy I am focused on making better food choices and better food portions (one of my largest problems) as opposed to saying “No I can’t eat that or that or that or that…” I want to enjoy all of my old favorites (I’m talking about you chocolate and ice cream) but in moderation. As I write this, my first of hopefully many posts, I am making veggie chips. So far I have made green bean fries. The sweet potato chips are in the oven burning badly (oops!) and on deck are rutabaga, beet, carrot, butternut squash and kale! I think since its getting late that the beets, kale and squash will have to wait. I’m already not a huge fan of the green beans. They do taste great, but did not get as crispy as I had hoped for. Maybe I’ll leave them in the oven longer. I’m also really bad at the exercise component of being healthy, but this week exercised so far 3 out of 6 days and with a whole day of downhill skiing tomorrow I should bump that to 4 out of 7 days! Not that I really consider downhill skiing exercise since I love it so much. Yes its May and I’m still skiing. Thank you record snow fall and living in Alaska! Before I close lets review this weeks meals. Update later with pics as I actually make the food.

Menu: note as a single lady (Yes I’m single and you are going to have to be amazing to change that!) I tend to make 2 or 3 meals a week and eat them on repeat until they are gone mixing them up for lunch and dinner.

Breakfast:

  1. Grapefruit Smoothie (I’ll post the link later as I can’t seem to find it…)
  2. Pumpkin Bread in a Bowl (Chocolate Covered Katie)
  3. Carrot Cake Muffin (Chocolate Covered Katie)*

*Chocolate Covered Katie is a vegan blog, being as I’m not vegan I just substitute as needed)

Lunch/Dinner:

  1. Healthy Chicken Nuggets (Skinny Taste)
  2. Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole (Hungry Girl)
  3. As these meals will cover me for 8 meals I am having salads for 2 of my lunches…

Snacks:

  1. Veggie Chips (see links above)
  2. Peanut Butter Balls (Comfort Food Diet Cookbook)
  3. Popcorn Balls (Undressed Skeleton)
  4. various fruit (apples, bananas, strawberries)
Leave a Reply

